Arizona DUI Laws Are No Joke, Even For Your First Offense
Being charged with DUI in Arizona is no laughing matter, whether it is your first charge or you have been down this road before. In fact, the state’s DUI penalties are strictest in the nation. Being found guilty of driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol means you face a mountain of problems, including jail or prison time, financial penalties, career hardships, loss of rights and even lost relationships. When you face DUI charges in Arizona, you need a highly experienced criminal defense lawyer specializing in Arizona DUI laws.
Some of Arizona’s DUI charges include:
- Impaired to the slightest degree
- Drugged DUI
- Underage DUI or “Baby DUI”
- 08 percent BAC or higher
- 15 percent BAC or higher
- 20 percent BAC or higher
- Aggravated felony DUI
- Aggravated felony DUI – third within 84 months
- Aggravated felony DUI – under revoked or suspended driver’s license
- Aggravated felony DUI – with passenger(s) under age 15 in your vehicle
- Commercial drivers DUI – 0.04 percent BAC or higher
According to Arizona law, having “actual physical control” of a motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicating substance is illegal. Intoxicating substances include:
- Vapor releasing toxic substance
- Prescription medication
- Over-the-counter medication
- Other substances or a combination of substances
Arizona’s Strict DUI Laws Confuse Many People
If you are pulled over or stopped by an Arizona law enforcement officer, you can be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) registers as 0.08 percent or higher within two hours of driving or having actual physical control of your vehicle.
Being impaired to the slightest degree by drugs or alcohol can also lead to charges, even if your BAC is below Arizona’s legal limit of 0.08 percent. This means the court can find you guilty of DUI if you are in actual physical control of your vehicle or driving while impaired by alcohol. Using legal or illegal drugs also results in a guilty verdict if the court finds you used these drugs before driving, while driving or being in actual physical control of your vehicle and suffered impairment to the slightest degree.
You Face Criminal Penalties for Arizona DUI
Whenever you face Arizona DUI charges, you need help from a skilled criminal defense lawyer. Consider what you stand to lose if you are convicted of a non-extreme misdemeanor DUI for the first time:
- Ten or more consecutive days in jail
- Until your entire sentence is served, no eligibility for probation or suspension of execution of the sentence
- Fines of $250 minimum
- Assessment of $500
- Ignition interlock device installation for 12 months in each of your personal vehicles
- Community service hours
- Drug and alcohol screening
- Drug and alcohol treatment and education
If you face charges of DUI because of drugged driving, you face the same penalties as an alcohol DUI charge. The only exception to this is mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installation in your personal vehicles. The court uses its own discretion in making the decision of whether to require installation of an IID in your vehicle after drug DUI conviction.
Do Not Take Your Arizona DUI Arrest Lightly
Being arrested for DUI in Arizona is serious. You need an experienced DUI defense lawyer, as your charges are a criminal matter. Your criminal defense lawyer protects your rights and works hard to help you avoid conviction.